Thursday, May 28, 2015
Kentucky Seatbelt Laws
Wearing a seatbelt is mandatory in Kentucky. If a driver is pulled over for not wearing a seatbelt, he can be fined $25. He may also be fined up to $25 dollars per passenger not wearing a seatbelt, so a driver should always require his passengers to wear seatbelts. Parents are responsible for children wearing seatbelts and booster/child safety seats.
Besides wearing a seatbelt being the law in forty-nine states, statistics show that wearing a seatbelt is the best way to reduce the risk of catastrophic injuries in auto accidents. While air bags are designed to supplement the use of seatbelts, they are not intended to replace them. Car accidents are the number one cause of death in America for individuals ages 4-34 and claim up to 700 Kentuckians’ lives each year.
- Always wear your seatbelt snug around your chest and lap with the seat in the upright position. Never wear your seatbelt around your face or throat.
- Pregnant women should wear their seatbelt below their abdomen.
- Children should stay in their child seat until they reach forty pounds and should then remain in an approved booster seat until the seatbelt fits them comfortably.
If you or a loved one has been injured in an auto accident, contact Flora Templeton Stuart in Bowling Green and Glasgow, Kentucky. We represent injured clients across Kentucky, Tennessee, and the nation. Consultations are free, and someone is available 24 hours a day and can be reached at (888)782-9090.