[fusion_builder_container hundred_percent=”no” equal_height_columns=”no” hide_on_mobile=”small-visibility,medium-visibility,large-visibility” background_position=”center center” background_repeat=”no-repeat” fade=”no” background_parallax=”none” enable_mobile=”no” parallax_speed=”0.3″ video_aspect_ratio=”16:9″ video_loop=”yes” video_mute=”yes” overlay_opacity=”0.5″ border_style=”solid” padding_top=”20px” padding_bottom=”20px”][fusion_builder_row][fusion_builder_column type=”1_1″ layout=”1_1″ spacing=”” center_content=”no” hover_type=”none” link=”” min_height=”” hide_on_mobile=”small-visibility,medium-visibility,large-visibility” class=”” id=”” background_color=”” background_image=”” background_position=”left top” background_repeat=”no-repeat” border_size=”0″ border_color=”” border_style=”solid” border_position=”all” padding=”” dimension_margin=”” animation_type=”” animation_direction=”left” animation_speed=”0.3″ animation_offset=”” last=”no”][fusion_text]

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

When Can Teens Drive?

Here are some important things to know about teenage driving laws in Kentucky.

  • Kentucky uses the “graduated” approach to teenage driving. The phases are Permit, Intermediate License, and Unrestricted License.
  • Kentucky teens may apply for a Permit when they turn 16. They:
    • Must pass vision screen test and written test on road safety.
    • Must be accompanied by an adult at least 21 years old when they drive.
    • Must complete at least 60 hours of driving time, 10 of which must be night-time driving hours.
    • May only have only one passenger under age 20 who is not an immediate family member.
    • May not drive between midnight and 6:00 am unless he or she can show good cause such as an emergency, school, or work.
  • After the teenager has completed the sixty hour requirement, and 180 days have passed since he or she received the permit, the teen may then apply for an Intermediate License. The teen:
    • Must pass a driving skills test.
    • No longer required to have an adult passenger.
    • May not have more than one passenger under age 20 who is not an immediate family member.
    • May not drive between midnight and 6:00 AM without good cause (see above).
  • To move to the Unrestricted License point system, the teen driver must complete a state-approved new driver education course. This may be done by one of the following:
    • Graduated licensing course—a free 4-hour course provided by the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet in the drivers’ home county.
    • High school drivers’ education course or similar course offered by a community college or job corps.
    • Private driving instruction through a Kentucky-approved driving school.

If you have questions about how to keep your teenager safe on the road this summer, call attorney Flora Templeton Stuart at (888) 782-9090. Auto accident lawyer Flora Templeton Stuart has nearly 40 years of experience representing the injured. We have offices in Glasgow and Bowling Green, Kentucky, but travel throughout Kentucky and Tennessee to meet with our injured clients.


We Are The Law Firm Who Cares About You